The millenial generation is NOT self absorbed

I’ve been thinking. Actually I was reading a news article about millenials (my generation) on Forbes. I have “liked” Forbes on their facebook page because they cover some interesting and thought provoking topics which what I’m all about.

The topic was of course some variation about the Millenial generation. I read the article then I had an observation about the news outlets and what they like to report on. Many times I hear the phrase “The millenial generation is self absorbed, entitled, and narcissistic”. Then the observation came to me: these organizations are making this generation into something that it wants us to be. Almost daily some news topic appears on Forbes or elsewhere about Millenials!

It’s not us, its the news outlets! We can’t be self absorbed unless journalists like you keep making report after report about us! It sounds to me like the media is more obsessed with the Millenial generation than we are.

I think the reason that the Media reports on us so often is they want our subscription dollar or viewership. The newer generations are very tech savvy and most don’t even have a newspaper subscription. We all know the news papers are losing revenue and are becoming increasingly irrelevant. I believe their strategy is to make so many topics about us that we will become a customer.

So in short; we’re not self obsessed, you’re obsessed with us!

Leave a comment